Compact Mirrors & Powder Compacts

Jane Vanroe on collecting vintage powder compacts and compact mirrors. You can find Jane's designs at www.vanroe.com and on Amazon in the EU & USA

Mothers’ Day preparations with a teething baby

Joji - The Powder Compact Diaries

Joji - Happy eating, miserable teething

March has arrived with a cry in the Johnston household, as Joji’s first teeth seem to be breaking through. Poor chap isn’t sleeping properly at all, meaning that Mummy’s time to pack up Mothers’ Day orders is increasingly squished… or accompanied by a cranky baby soundtrack. He’s just dozed off after an hour of intermittent screaming, shushing and sellotaping.

Billy joins the crying game. Both boys screaming at the same time is rather impressive. Mummy very often resorts to CBeebies and strong tea.

Even so, it’s rather wonderful that as my compacts are given as gifts, busy times cluster around family occasions. Christmas, Valentines Day, and now Mother’s Day. I hadn’t realised that I’d be sharing these days with so many customers. One of my favourite things about running Vanroe is writing the gift messages in customers’ parcels. With or without a baby soundtrack, it’s surprisingly moving to be connected to mothers I’ve never met… to be writing the words that their son or daughter wants me to share.

Joji and Billy - powder compact diaries

My sons. Makes this whole Mum thing worth while.

There’s still silence in my house, so it seems the Calpol has finally kicked in. I’ll be stocking up on Calpol and compacts to make it through to March 18th… Maybe my Mothers’ Day fairies will bring me a 500ml bottle of baby nurofen this year….

One comment on “Mothers’ Day preparations with a teething baby

  1. Robyn Chys-Crowley
    March 2, 2012

    You need the baby whisperer* !! (*me!!)
    x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 2, 2012 by in my vintage powder compacts and tagged , , , .

About me

Jane Johnston Vanroe Powder Compact Mirrors

Follow me on twitter

Follow vanroecompacts on Twitter @vanroeuk

Collect the latest British compacts

Shop for new designer compact mirrors

Available at VANROE and on Amazon USA

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and hear of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

