Compact Mirrors & Powder Compacts

Jane Vanroe on collecting vintage powder compacts and compact mirrors. You can find Jane's designs at www.vanroe.com and on Amazon in the EU & USA

Help me choose the new Stratton powder compacts we put into production

Powder compacts Stratton Heritage Range

My samples – Provisionally “The Stratton Heritage Range”. I get all jittery looking at this photo!

After almost a year’s thought and research, the first samples of my own range of powder compacts are finally here!

I wanted the range to reflect my two loves, Stratton powder compacts and heritage textiles. The lids are made from traditional cotton, printed and finished in a family-run mill in Yorkshire. The patterns are those of English Arts and Crafts designer, William Morris, created between 1870 and 1915.

Powder compact WIlliam Morris 1876 Pimpernel fabric

From Morris’s 1876 Pimpernel fabric

The compacts themselves are Strattons – a British company who manufactured their first compacts in 1923. The smaller pieces still feature Stratton’s “self-opening” powder lid. This innovation was patented in 1948 to prevent chips in the nail polish of glamorous Stratton ladies.

New Stratton powder compact with self-opening lid

With Stratton’s 1948 “self-opening” powder lid

However, I have intentionally brought little elements of 2012 into my compacts. The cotton is spray coated with a modern plastic, making the lid durable without loosing the weave and soft touch of the fabric. I have scaled and cut the beautiful William Morris designs so that the compacts, I hope, look contemporary – light and vintage-inspired rather than fusty, museum pieces. I would love to know your thoughts!

Stratton powder compact new William Morris design

I think this compact looks so modern, almost Scandinavian… it uses a Morris design from 1883!

Over the next month I need to decide which of these designs to put into production. Which is where I’d love your help. You can find all the sample compacts on Vanroe’s Facebook page. The RRP on each one would be around £40. Please, please, please “Like” your favourite, and the one you’d be most likely to give as a gift to your mother, aunt or grandmother. Any comments, thoughts and suggestions would be hugely, hugely appreciated!

Phew. I need a strong cup of tea to calm down!

You might also like my post on The History of Stratton Powder Compacts.

Powder compact WIlliam Morris

Your favourite? Please let me know now on my facebook page!

5 comments on “Help me choose the new Stratton powder compacts we put into production

  1. grannysmiff
    February 26, 2012

    Hi Jane my fav is the dark blue one with 1883 pattern because it stands out from the rest. I don’t use Facebook any more.

    • Jane Johnston
      February 27, 2012

      Thank you! That’s my favourite too! :)

  2. saffa
    March 5, 2012

    Hi Jane,
    these compacts are really beautiful, you have a good eye! My favourite is the deep blue one as it is a perfect mix of vintage design but also looks quite modern, its gorgeous! I also love the 1876 Pimpernel fabric design too, I think they would all be very popular. Best of luck with it all, very exciting! saffa xxx

  3. Rachel
    April 27, 2012

    Hi Jane, what I would like to see for later choices is some BALLET design compacts. Would definitely buy one or all of those!!

    • Jane Johnston
      April 27, 2012

      Hi Rachel, Thanks for commenting!

      Yes, several ladies have asked for ballet designs… it’s something that I have at the top of my wishlist for future ranges. I’ll keep you posted! x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2012 by in my vintage powder compacts.

About me

Jane Johnston Vanroe Powder Compact Mirrors

Follow me on twitter

Follow vanroecompacts on Twitter @vanroeuk

Collect the latest British compacts

Shop for new designer compact mirrors

Available at VANROE and on Amazon USA

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and hear of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

