Compact Mirrors & Powder Compacts

Jane Vanroe on collecting vintage powder compacts and compact mirrors. You can find Jane's designs at www.vanroe.com and on Amazon in the EU & USA

Stepping out with my babies, and meeting my knights in shining armour at the Mini dealership

The boys play with powder sifter fabric

The boys play with powder sifter fabric, minutes before our nail biting adventure

My usual afternoon runs as follows: Pack orders while babies sleep, feed smallest baby, play with largest baby, bundle both up against the recent biting cold, manouver large pushchair outside for a bracing walk up to the post office to send a lovely bag full of orders. However, Monday’s routine was thrown into an epic adventure against geography and the elements. Our pushchair turned out to have two flat tyres.

One of the two bags of orders

One of the two bags of orders tied to my pram that fateful day. Child included for scale.

I unfortunately didn’t take photos, so you’ll have two imagine a three wheel buggy with two babies, two bulky bags of compacts, and two tyres flapping around like dead balloons. And me pushing the whole thing up the steepest hill in Halifax. The post office ain’t called High Road Well for nothing. Maintaining my composure, sans mobile and sans gloves on the coldest day so far was no mean feat. If I’d rolled through dog poo too, I think I would have broken down into a sobbing wretch. As it was, I held it together long enough for the Squeaky Clean Car Wash and Mini Dealership to edge into view.

Squeaky Clean Damon and Dan did their best with their air compressor, and I was on my way again. The compacts were sent, and I didn’t cry. I shall be forever indebted to those awesome chaps. And to, of course, my darling husband who picked up a puncture repair kit from B&Q and plans to tackle the offending tyres tomorrow.

Safely home, Mummy final gets to go to the bathroom...

Billy helps with Mummy's accounts

...while Billy tackles the accounts

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2012 by in my vintage powder compacts.

About me

Jane Johnston Vanroe Powder Compact Mirrors

Follow me on twitter

Follow vanroecompacts on Twitter @vanroeuk

Collect the latest British compacts

Shop for new designer compact mirrors

Available at VANROE and on Amazon USA

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and hear of new posts by email.

Join 57 other followers

