Compact Mirrors & Powder Compacts

Jane Vanroe on collecting vintage powder compacts and compact mirrors. You can find Jane's designs at www.vanroe.com and on Amazon in the EU & USA

Stratton’s vintage powder compact advertisements

Stratton's 1953 ad for Woman & Home magazine

Stratton’s 1953 ad for Woman & Home magazine

Last week I received a wonderful email from the only remaining British compact company, Stratton. I’d asked for further information to share with customers, as I’m about to go live with my first range of new powder compacts (all Stratton of course!). In reply, Stratton’s lovely sales chap Andrew sent an email full of vintage ads. Practically fell off my seat.

The ads are too perfect to wait to my launch to share… so here they are in all their vintage glory! My favourite? “Stratton Make Men Almost Worthwhile” – 1970

1950 Stratton ad for Country Life & Ideal Home

Stratton’s 1950 Christmas ad for Country Life & Ideal Home magazines

Stratton's 1959 ad for My Home magazine

Stratton’s 1959 ad for My Home magazine

Stratton's 1970 ad for Readers Digest magazine

Stratton’s 1970 ad for Readers Digest magazine

Stratton's 1958-1959 ad for Vogue's Beauty Book

Stratton’s 1958-1959 ad for Vogue’s Beauty Book

Stratton's 1954 ad for Everywoman magazine

Stratton’s 1954 ad for Everywoman magazine

Stratton's 1955 ad for Vogue magazine

Stratton’s 1955 ad for Vogue magazine

Leave a comment

About me

Jane Johnston Vanroe Powder Compact Mirrors

Follow me on twitter

Follow vanroecompacts on Twitter @vanroeuk

Collect the latest British compacts

Shop for new designer compact mirrors

Available at VANROE and on Amazon USA

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and hear of new posts by email.

Join 74 other subscribers