Compact Mirrors & Powder Compacts

Jane Vanroe on collecting vintage powder compacts and compact mirrors. You can find Jane's designs at www.vanroe.com and on Amazon in the EU & USA

Powder compacts at… vintage fairs

setting up at Harewood house vintage fair

Setting up at Harewood House's vintage fair last month

One of the best things about starting VanRoe has been the opportunity to sell at vintage fairs. I’ve adored vintage fairs ever since I’ve had say over my wardrobe, and being one of the stall holders feels very grown up indeed. Luckily, being pregnant means I can’t blow all my takings on a 1950s wiggle dress.

The only difficulty with v-fairs is that I can’t tell what to expect. They differ ridiculously in quality of publicity, and hence, footfall and takings. As a stall holder I have frustratingly little control, and the quality is often not reflected in the price I pay for a stall (which ranges from £5 – £65). Deciding which to invest in is a lottery until you get, through trial and error, your yearly “circuit”.

powder compacts at cookies vintage fair

Vintage compacts all sparkly under the flattering lights of Cookies Bar, Halifax, yesterday

Yesterday’s Cookies Vintage Fair was small but buzzy… and I’ve high hopes for Megan Wilson’s Halifax Vintage Fair in two week’s time. Every lampost in Halifax has been decorated by Megan in one of her flyers, seemingly since before Christmas! She’s also, incidentally, got the best eye for vintage fashion and I could buy every piece in her shop, Purple Rabbit Vintage. A 1930s bias cut dress I bought last year between pregnancies has already made two weddings, and is stretching promisingly over my six month bump… Oh, and another great thing about fairs organised by students, like Cookies, is being mistaken for a youngster… mainly as they are held in darkened bars. Nice to feel just a little bit rock and roll while I knit up more booties…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2011 by in my vintage powder compacts and tagged , , .

About me

Jane Johnston Vanroe Powder Compact Mirrors

Follow me on twitter

Follow vanroecompacts on Twitter @vanroeuk

Collect the latest British compacts

Shop for new designer compact mirrors

Available at VANROE and on Amazon USA

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and hear of new posts by email.

Join 58 other followers

